Home Congress Organisation Media Registration Contact Links Sitemap
English Française Deutsch Espa?ol Russian
Press Release
Press Release No. 23

Projects for the 21st Century
Winners of the International UIA Student Competition
XXI World Congress of Architecture 2002 in Berlin

18 projects were chosen as winners of the urban design ideas competition for students for rede-veloping an inner city area in Berlin-Mitte. The competition was organised by the Union Interna-tionale des Architectes (UIA) under the patronage of UNESCO in cooperation with Bund Deutscher Architekten BDA and Bund Deutscher Landschaftsarchitekten BDLA. It was launched in the context of the XXI World Congress of Architecture UIA Berlin 2002, which is being held in Berlin from 22 to 26 July 2002 under the title of ‘Resource Architecture’.
The competition met with enormous response from over 1,000 students from 46 countries. They offered a wide spectrum of projects concerning the future direction and architectural language of our cities against the backdrop of current architectural debates, i.e. the European city, the social city, environmental communication, mobility, the service and science society.
The competition task for the site between Spandauer Schifffahrtskanal and the old railway tracks near the future central station of Berlin was formulated together with the owners of the site, DB Immobiliengesellschaft mbH and Vivico.
The specific site Heidestraße in Berlin-Mitte is to set an example for the development, intercon-necting and ‘meshing’ of inner-city wastelands, while meeting the demands of users and re-specting environmental concerns.
The international jury awarded the UNESCO Prize of Architecture and another 17 prizes and dis-tinctions. The jury was composed of the following architects and urban designers:
Kees Christiaanse, Architect, Rotterdam/Berlin
Darius Djahanschah, Architect, Osnabrück
Peter Droege, Architect and Urban Designer, Sydney
Jürgen Heyder, Vivico Management GmbH, Berlin
Martin Kreienbaum, Architect, Hamburg
Ladislav Labus, Architect, Prague
Kamel Louafi, Landscape Architect, Berlin
Carmen Pinós, Architect, Barcelona
Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, Architect, Miami
Wolf Tochtermann, Architect and Former Director Human Settlements Division at UNESCO, Paris
Liangyong Wu, Architect and Urban Designer, Beijing

The results are published at www.uia-berlin2002.com.
The award winning projects will be on display in Hall 20 of the Berlin fair during the World Con-gress of Architecture. A documentation of the winning projects will be published as a project report. The prizes will be awarded during a ceremony on the Museum Island in Berlin on 25 July 2002.

Berlin, 4 June 2002

Prizes and Distinctions: UIA Student Competition

UNESCO Prize of Architecture (7.000 $)
Erika Bisio, Giulia Carpeneto, Irene Carpeneto; Genova/Italy
JIA-Award (Japan Institute of Architects, 5.000 $)
Andrew Heid, New Haven, CT/USA
Graphisoft-Award (Full Version ArchiCad 7.0)
Julien Bouvagnet, Marie-Laure Cazazonne; Montpellier/France
HKIA-Award (The Hong Kong Institute of Architects, 3.500 $)
Anne Brecker, Tim Ahrens, Karlsruhe/Germany
DBU-Awards (German Federal Environment Fund, Apprenticeship, each 3.000 $)
Claudia Gloede, Leander Otto; Darmstadt/Germany
Megan Baynes; Lund/Sweden
Johanna Schönborn, Luise Wiegand, Berlin/Germany
"Beca Pérez Pinero" –Award (Consejo Superior de los Colegios de Arquitectos de Espania, 6 Month-Scholarship)
Wladimir Zgordin, Hamburg/Germany

Special Prize
Wolf Tochtermann Prize (1.000 $)
Renata Bertol, Flavio Castellotti, Julianan Castro, Gabriel Duarte, Marcos Figueiredo, Rodrigo Louro;
Rio de Janeiro/Brazil

BAI-Award (Bundeskammer der Architekten und Ingenieurkonsulenten - BAI, Austria, Travel Scholarship, 1.625 $)
Adrien Thomas, Alexandar Sardarev, Martin Fougeras-Lavergnolle; Champs-sur-Marne, France
BDA-Award (Bund Deutscher Architekten BDA; Germany,1.000 $)
Katharina Lemmen, Marcello Mazzei, Berlin/Germany

BDLA-Award (Bund Deutscher Landschaftsarchitekten BDLA, Germany, 750 $)
Szymon Brzezowski, Marek Kotowski, Bartosz Brelecki, Irmina Zajaezkowska; Breslau/Poland
UAR-Award (Union of Architects of Russia, Travel-Scholarship to Moscow/St. Petersburg)
Frank Schettler; Reichenbach/Germany

MESZ-Award (Association of Hungarian Architects, 2 Weeks Travel-Scholarship to Budapest)
Aneta Vasileva, Svetla Dobreva, Zhana Stoilova, Nikolay Angelov, Hristo Govedarov; Sofia/Bulgaria

Garpa-Awards (Garden and Park Furnishing, Hamburg, Germany, each 2 Deck Chairs United States)
Tormond Forre, Mattias Gunneflo; Oslo/Norway
Melanie Förster, Nicole Kuhnle, Stephanie Lasthaus, Christiane Martensen; Karlsruhe/Germany

ASC-Awards (The Architectural Society of China – ASC (Book „World Architecture - A Critical Mosic 1900-2000“)
Alain Olivier Moudid, Francesco Pipitone, Gulio Pons, Carlo Spiniello; Genova/Italy
Justin Baroncea, Carmen Popescu; Barcelona/Spain

Further information on the congress: www.uia-berlin2002.com.

Press contact
Scantinental Business-Kontakt-Agentur
Fon +49 (0)30-84 77 00-0
Fax +49 (0)30-812 00 80
Mail to Scantinental Business-Kontakt-Agentur

Congressplanning and -programme
UIA Berlin 2002 e.V.
Koepenicker Str. 48/49
D-10179 Berlin (Mitte)
Fon +49 (0)30 - 27 87 34 40
Fax +49 (0)30 - 27 87 34 12
Mail to UIA Berlin 2002

Congress Management and Registration
Bundesallee 56
D-10715 Berlin
Fon 030-8579030
Fax 030-85790326

Press Release
Goals and Impact
Press Service

Top of page

Last update: 13/07/2002