Home Congrès Organisation Médias Enregistrement Contact Liens Sitemap
English Française Deutsch Español Russian
Manifestations - UIA
L’UIA a été fondée en 1949 à l’initiative d’architectes de renom, en particulier de l’architecte et journaliste Pierre Vago, 91 ans, actuel Président d’honneur, dans le but de réunir les architectes de tous les pays au sein d’une union de leurs organisations professionnelles. Sont actuellement membres de l’UIA les organisations de 98 pays comptant environ 1,2 million d’architectes. L’UIA est la seule organisation mondiale professionnelle des architectes. Elle est accréditées auprès des Nations Unies comme organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) et est reconnue par les sous-organisations suivantes des Nations Unies :

· Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (ECOSOC), Genève
· United Nations Industrial Development Organisations (UNIDO), Vienne
· International Labour Organisation (ILO), Genève
· World Health Organisation (WHO), Genève
· United Nations Center for Human Settlements (UNCHS), Nairobi
· United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO), Paris

La coopération est particulièrement intensive avec l’UNESCO. C’est ainsi qu’on été adoptées ces dernières années les règles suivantes :
· UIA/UNESCO-Règlement pour les concours internationaux d’architectes,
· UIA/UNESCO-Charte pour la formation d’architecte,
· UIA/UNESCO-Règles pour l’accréditation des écoles d’architecture

L’UIA est divisée en cinq régions:
Région I: Europe de l’Ouest
Région II: Europe de l’Est et Proche-Orient
Région III: Amérique du Nord, Amérique Centrale et Amérique du Sud
Région IV: Australie et Asie
Région V: Afrique

Chaque région est dirigée par un vice-président qui la représente au sein du Bureau. Le Bureau se compose, outre les cinq vice-présidents des régions, du président, du secrétaire général et du trésorier. Le Bureau est élu pour une période de trois ans lors du congrès mondial. Le président est élu pour un mandat, les vice-présidents peuvent être élus pour deux mandats, le secrétaire général et le trésorier peuvent l’être pour trois mandats. Le Bureau dirige le travail du secrétariat général à Paris et prépare les décisions soumises aux séances du conseil.

Le conseil de l’UIA, en tant qu’organe exécutif de l’UIA, se compose des membres du Bureau, soit 4 membres pour chaque région, ainsi que du dernier président et du directeur du secrétariat général. En plus de ces 30 membres du conseil de l’UIA, les anciens présidents de l’UIA peuvent être conviés à titre de conseillers aux réunions du conseil qui se tiennent deux fois l’an.
L’assemblée générale est l’organe décisionnel et électoral de l’UIA. Elle réunit ses quelque 280 délégués tous les trois ans, à l’occasion du congrès mondial. Le nombre de délégués par section nationale de l’UIA (pays) se calcule – tout comme le montant des cotisations – à l’aide d’un facteur basé sur le produit national brut et le chiffre de population. Un délégué au minimum et dix délégués au maximum représentent une section nationale à l’assemblée générale. Celle-ci décide des résolutions présentées par le conseil, élit les membres des comités et décide du lieu de la tenue du prochain congrès mondial de l’UIA.

Au niveau des contenus, le travail de l’UIA s’effectue au sein des commissions et des groupes de travail. Il existe à l’heure actuelle 18 groupes de travail et commissions composés de membres internationaux et coordonnés par le secrétaire général. Au cours des dernières années une signification accrue a été prise par la Professional Practive Commission qui a conçu l’ «Accord on Recommended International Standards of Professionalism in Architectural Practice » concernant la libéralisation des services dans le cadre des accords GATT/GATTS, adopté à l’unanimité par l’assemblée générale. C’est la première fois qu’un groupe professionnel se fixe des standards de qualification mondialement reconnus pour l’exercice d’une profession.

A l’occasion du XXIème Congrès Mondial d’Architecture Berlin 2002 se tiendront les réunion suivantes :

20 juillet 2002, 14.00–18.00
Deutsches Architektur Zentrum DAZ
Bureau de l’UIA



21 juillet 2002, 10.00–18.00 h
30 juillet 2002, 10.00–18.00 h
Deutsches Architektur Zentrum DAZ
Conseil de l’UIA



22 juillet 2002, 14.00–18.00 h
ICC (ouvert au public)
Groupes de travail de l’UIA

Les groupes de travail de l’UIA rassemblent des architectes et experts des disciplines les plus diverses qui contribuent de façon décisive à définir les contenus majeurs en matière d’architecture, d’urbanisme et de politique. Compte-tenu de leurs compétences particulières dans un domaine professionnel spécifique, leurs membres sont mandatés par les sections de l’UIA ou par le Conseil de l’UIA pour en assurer la présidence ou en faire partie. Les groupes de travail peuvent avoir une orientation tant internationale que régionale et ils organisent régulièrement des colloques techniques. Les résultats de leurs travaux seront présentés par les différents groupes au cours de plusieurs manifestations du congrès mondial.


1. Architecture et défis de la société
· Architecture and Children
· Architecture and the Disabled
· Architecture and Heritage

2. Architecture, infrastructure culturelle et sociale
· Architecture for Science and High Tech Facilities
· Educational and Cultural Spaces
· Places of Worship
· Public Health

3. Architecture, habitat, urbanisme
· Habitat
· Intermediate Cities and World Urbanisation
· Urban Settlements and Natural Disasters
· Shelter for the Homeless – The Road from Istanbul

4. Architecture et concepts de durabilité
· Architecture and Conservation of Forests
· Architecture and Energy
· Architecture of the Future
· Sustainable Development of the Built Environment – The Road from Rio
· Architecture and Ecology

5. Architecture et loisirs
· Sports and Leisure
· Architecture and Tourism

6. Architecture et avenir de la profession
· Role of the Architects
· The Road from Beijing

Outre ces manifestations communes, des présentations vidéo et Internet ainsi que des expositions seront organisées par différents groupes de travail de l’UIA.



23 au 25 juillet 2002, 14.30–17.00 h
ICC (ouvert au public)
Commissions internationales de l’UIA



23 au 25 juillet 2002,
10.00–12.30 h et 14.30–17.00 h
ICC (ouvert au public)
Conférences régionales de l’UIA



25 juillet 2002, 21.00–24.00 h
Ile des Musées (ouvert au public)
Remise de la Médaille d’or de l’UIA, des Prix UIA et du Prix UIA 2002 décerné au lauréat du concours destiné aux étudiants



27 au 29 juillet 2002,
de 0.00–18.00 h
ICC
XXIIème Assemblée générale de l’UIA

Bienvenue
Thème
Groupes-cibles
Calendrier du congrès juillet 2002
Le congrès principal
Appel à contributions
Manifestations
Conférences préliminaires
UIA
Culture
Domaine
Expositions
Excursions
Ateliers destinés aux ètudiants
PlanCom 2002
Concours destiné aux étudiants
Lieux
Dialogue









 
Début de page

Situation: January 2002

Home Congress Organisation Media Registration Contact Links Sitemap
English Franšaise Deutsch Espa˝ol Russian
UIA Events
The International Union of Architects
The UIA was founded in 1948 on the initiative of prominent architects, including the architect and journalist Pierre Vago, now 91 years old and Honorary President of the organisation. His aim was to bring together architects from countries all over the world in a union of their professional associations. At present, organisations in 98 countries with some 1.2 million architects are members of the UIA. The UIA is the only world-wide professional organisation for architects. It has NGO status at the United Nations and is recognised by the

· Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (ECOSOC), Geneva
· United Nations Industrial Development Organisation (UNIDO), Vienna
· International Labour Organisation (ILO), Geneva
· World Health Organisation (WHO), Geneva
· United Nations Centre for Human Settlements (UNCHS), Nairobi
· United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO), Paris

The UIA works very closely with UNESCO, and this co-operation has led, for instance, to the elaboration of the

· UIA/UNESCO Regulations for International Competitions in Architecture and Town Planning,
· UIA/UNESCO Charter for Architectural Education,
· UIA/UNESCO Rules for the Accreditation of Schools of Architecture.


The UIA is divided into five Regions:

Region I: Western Europe
Region II: Middle East and Eastern Europe
Region III: The Americas
Region IV Asia and Australia
Region V: Africa

Each Region is headed by a Vice-President, who represents his Region in the Bureau. The Bureau is composed of the President, the Immediate Past President, the Secretary-General, the Treasurer and the five Vice-Presidents of the Regions. The Bureau is elected at World Congresses for a period of three years. The President is elected for one term in office, the Vice-Presidents can be elected for two terms and the Secretary-General and the Treasurer for three terms. The Bureau is responsible for the work of the General Secretariat in Paris and prepares the decisions to be taken at meetings of the Council.

The UIA Council as the executive body of the UIA consists of the members of the Bureau, four members from each Region, the Immediate Past President and the Director of the General Secretariat. In addition to the 30 members of the UIA Council, the former Presidents of the UIA can participate by special invitation in an advisory capacity in the twice-yearly meetings of the Council.
The Assembly is the decision-making and electoral body of the UIA. Its 280-odd delegates convene every three years at World Congresses. The number of delegates from each national UIA section (country) is calculated ľ as is the membership fee ľ on the basis of the respective gross national product and the size of the population. A minimum of one delegate and a maximum of ten delegates may represent a national section at the Assembly. The Assembly decides on the draft documents proposed by the Council, elects the members to the bodies and determines the venue of UIA World Congresses.

The work of the UIA is carried out in Commissions and Work Programmes. At present, there are 18 International Work Programmes and Commissions, whose activities are co-ordinated by the Secretary-General. Special importance has attached in recent years to the work of the Professional Practice Commission, which produced the UIA Accord on Recommended International Standards of Professionalism in Architectural Practice adopted unanimously by the Assembly in view of the liberalisation of services resulting from the GATT/ GATTS agreements. This was the first time ever that a professional organisation succeeded in establishing internationally accepted standards for the exercise of a profession.

The UIA Work Programmes bring together architects and experts from a wide range of professional backgrounds, who contribute in a major way to the advance of architecture, urban development and professional policy. In the light of their outstanding competence in a particular field, they are asked by the UIA Member Sections or the UIA Council to participate in, or take charge of, the work that is carried out. The Work Programmes, which have an international or regional emphasis, stage symposia at regular intervals. The results of their work will be presented at several events organised by the individual programmes during the World Congress.

1. Architecture and Social Challenges
· Architecture and Children
· Architecture and the Disabled
· Architecture and Heritage

2. Architecture, Cultural and Social Infrastructure
· Architecture for Science and High-Tech Facilities
· Educational and Cultural Spaces
· Places of Worship
· Public Health

3. Architecture, Housing, Urban Development
· Habitat
· Intermediate Cities and World Urbanisation
· Urban Settlements and Natural Disasters
· Shelter for the Homeless ľ The Road from Istanbul

4. Architecture and Strategies for Sustainability
· Architecture and Conservation of Forests
· Architecture and Energy
· Architecture of the Future
· Sustainable Development of the Built Environment ľ The Road from Rio
· Architecture and Ecology

5. Architecture and Leisure Time
· Sports and Leisure
· Architecture and Tourism

6. Architecture and the Future of the Profession
· The Role of Architects
· The Road from Beijing

In addition to these joint events, the individual UIA Work Programmes will be staging video and Internet presentations and exhibitions

The following meetings will be held at the XXI World Congress of Architecture in Berlin in 2002:

20 July 2002 14.00 to 18.00 h
Deutsches Architektur Zentrum DAZ
UIA Bureau



21 July 2002 10.00 to 18.00 h
30 July 2002 10.00 to 18.00 h
Deutsches Architektur Zentrum DAZ
UIA Council



22 July 2002 14.00 to 18.00 h
ICC (open to the public)
UIA International and Regional Work Programmes



23 to 25 July 2002 14.30 to 17.00 h
ICC (open to the public)
UIA International Commissions



23 to 25 July 2002
ICC (open to the public)
UIA Regional Conferences



25 July 2002 21.00 to 24.00 h
Museum Island (open to the public)
Award of the UIA Gold Medal, UIA Prizes and the Prizes for the UIA Berlin 2002 Student Competition



27 to 29 July 2002 10.00 to 18.00 h
ICC
XXII UIA Assembly



Welcome
Theme
Target Groups
Congress Calendar July 2002
Main Congress
Call for Contributions
Events
Pre-Conferences
UIA
Cultural Events
Special
Exhibitions
Excursions
Students Workshop
PlanCom 2002
Student Competition
Sites
Dialogue









 
Top of page

Last update: December 2001