Home Kongress Organisation Medien Registrierung Kontakt Links Sitemap
English Française Deutsch Español Russian
UIA-Veranstaltungen
Der Weltverband der Architekten
Die UIA wurde 1948 auf Initiative prominenter Architekten, insbesondere des Architekten und Journalisten Pierre Vago, dem heute 91-jährigen Ehrenpräsidenten, gegründet mit dem Ziel, die Architekten aller Länder in einer Union ihrer Standesorganisationen zu vereinen. Derzeit sind die Organisationen von 98 Ländern mit ca. 1,2 Millionen Architekten Mitglieder der UIA. Die UIA ist die einzige weltumspannende Organisation des Berufsstandes der Architektinnen und Architekten. Sie ist bei den Vereinten Nationen als Non Governmental Organisation (NGO) akkreditiert und wird von folgenden Unterorganisationen der UN anerkannt:

· Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (ECOSOC), Genf
· United Nations Industrial Development Organisations (UNIDO), Wien
· International Labour Organisation (ILO), Genf
· World Health Organisation (WHO), Genf
· United Nations Center for Human Settlements (UNCHS), Nairobi
· United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO), Paris

Vor allem mit der UNESCO ist die Zusammenarbeit besonders intensiv. In den vergangenen Jahren entstanden zum Beispiel die
· UIA/UNESCO-Regeln für internationale Architektenwettbewerbe,
· UIA/UNESCO-Charta für Architektenausbildung,
· UIA/UNESCO-Regeln für die Akkreditierung von Architekturschulen.

Die UIA ist in fünf Regionen unterteilt:
Region I: Westeuropa
Region II: Osteuropa und vorderer Orient
Region III: Nord-, Mittel- und Südamerika
Region IV: Australien und Asien
Region V: Afrika

Die Regionen werden von jeweils einem Vizepräsidenten geleitet, der seine Region auch im Präsidium (Bureau) vertritt. Das Präsidium besteht neben den fünf Vizepräsidenten der Regionen aus dem Präsidenten, dem Generalsekretär und dem Schatzmeister. Das Präsidium wird anlässlich der Weltkongresse für eine Periode von drei Jahren gewählt. Der Präsident wird für eine Periode gewählt, die Vizepräsidenten können für zwei Perioden gewählt werden, dem Generalsekretär und dem Schatzmeister sind drei Wahlperioden möglich. Das Präsidium leitet die Arbeit des Generalsekretariats in Paris und bereitet Entscheidungen für die Ratssitzungen vor.

Der UIA-Rat als Exekutiv-Organ der UIA besteht aus den Mitgliedern des Präsidiums, jeweils 4 Mitgliedern aus jeder Region, dem letzten Präsidenten und dem/der Direktor/-in des Generalsekretariats. Neben diesen 30 Mitgliedern des UIA-Rats können auf besondere Einladung die früheren Präsidenten der UIA an den zweimal im Jahr stattfindenden Sitzungen des Rates beratend teilnehmen.
Die Generalversammlung ist das Entscheidungs- und Wahlorgan der UIA. Sie tritt mit ihren ca. 280 Delegierten alle drei Jahre anlässlich der Weltkongresse zusammen. Die Anzahl der Delegierten je vertretener nationaler UIA-Sektion (Land) berechnet sich – ebenso wie die Beitragshöhe – aus einem Faktor aus Bruttosozialprodukt und Bevölkerungszahl. Mindestens ein Delegierter und höchstens 10 Delegierte vertreten eine nationale Sektion in der Generalversammlung. Diese entscheidet über die Vorlagen des Rates, wählt die Mitglieder in den Gremien und bestimmt den Ort der jeweiligen UIA-Weltkongresse.

Die inhaltliche Arbeit der UIA wird in den Kommissionen und Arbeitsgruppen geleistet. Derzeit bestehen 18 international besetzte und vom Generalsekretär koordinierte Arbeitsgruppen und Kommissionen. Besondere Bedeutung hat in den letzten Jahren die Professional Practice Commission erhalten, die den von der Generalversammlung einstimmig angenommenen UIA Accord on Recommended International Standards of Professionalism in Architectural Practice im Hinblick auf die Liberalisierung der Dienstleistungen im Rahmen der GATT/GATTS-Vereinbarungen geschaffen hat. Erstmalig hat sich damit eine Berufsgruppe weltweit anerkannte Standards für die Qualifikation der Berufsausübung gesetzt.

Anlässlich des XXI. Architektur-Weltkongresses Berlin 2002 finden folgende Sitzungen statt:
 
21. Juli 2002, 10.00-18.00 h
30. Juli 2002, 10.00-18.00 h
Deutsches Architektur Zentrum DAZ
UIA-Rat (Council)



22. Juli 2002, 14.00-18.00 h
ICC (öffentlich)
UIA-Arbeitsgruppen
 

Den UIA-Arbeitsgruppen gehören Architekten und Experten verschiedenster berufsspezifischer Fachrichtungen an, die maßgebliche Beiträge zu den inhaltlichen Schwerpunkten von Architektur, Städtebau und Berufspolitik leisten. Ihre Mitglieder werden aufgrund ihrer Kompetenz in dem speziellen Fachgebiet von den UIA-Sektionen bzw. dem UIA-Rat mit der Leitung oder Mitarbeit beauftragt. Die Arbeitsgruppen können sowohl international als auch regional ausgerichtet sein und veranstalten regelmäßig Fachtagungen. Die Ergebnisse der inhaltlichen Arbeit werden während des Weltkongresses in mehreren Veranstaltungen von den einzelnen Gruppen präsentiert.

1. Architektur und die Herausforderungen der Gesellschaft
· Architecture and Children
· Architecture and the Disabled
· Architecture and Heritage

2. Architektur, kulturelle und soziale Infrastruktur
· Architecture for Science and High Tech Facilities
· Educational and Cultural Spaces
· Places of Worship
· Public Health

3. Architektur, Wohnen, Städtebau
· Habitat
· Intermediate Cities and World Urbanisation
· Urban Settlements and Natural Disasters
· Shelter for the Homeless – The Road from Istanbul

4. Architektur und Konzepte der Nachhaltigkeit
· Architecture and Conservation of Forests
· Architecture and Energy
· Architecture of the Future
· Sustainable Development of the Built Environment – The Road from Rio
· Architecture and Ecology

5. Architektur und Freizeit
· Sports and Leisure
· Architecture and Tourism

6. Architektur und die Zukunft des Berufsstandes
· Role of the Architects
· The Road from Beijing

Neben diesen gemeinsamen Veranstaltungen werden durch einzelne UIA-Arbeitsgruppen Video- und Internetpräsentationen sowie Ausstellungen organisiert.



23. bis 25. Juli 2002, 14.30-17.00 h
ICC (öffentlich)
UIA-Internationale Kommissionen



23. bis 25. Juli 2002,
10.00-12.30 h und 14.30-17.00 h
ICC (öffentlich)
UIA-Regionalkonferenzen



25. Juli 2002, 21.00-24.00 h
Museumsinsel (öffentlich)
Verleihung der UIA-Goldmedaille, UIA-Preise und Preise des UIA-Berlin-2002-Studentenwettbewerbs



20. Juli 2002, 14.00-18.00 h
Deutsches Architektur Zentrum DAZ
UIA-Präsidium (Bureau)


 
27. bis 29. Juli 2002,
jeweils 10.00-18.00 h
ICC
XXII. UIA-Generalversammlung


Willkommen
Thema
Zielgruppen
Kongresskalender Juli 2002
Der Hauptkongress
Aufruf zur Beteiligung
Veranstaltungen
Vorkonferenzen
UIA
Kultur
Fach
Ausstellungen
Exkursionen
Studenten-Werkstatt
Studentenwettbewerb
Standorte
Dialog









 
Seitenanfang

Stand: December 2001

Home Congress Organisation Media Registration Contact Links Sitemap
English Franšaise Deutsch Espa˝ol Russian
UIA Events
The International Union of Architects
The UIA was founded in 1948 on the initiative of prominent architects, including the architect and journalist Pierre Vago, now 91 years old and Honorary President of the organisation. His aim was to bring together architects from countries all over the world in a union of their professional associations. At present, organisations in 98 countries with some 1.2 million architects are members of the UIA. The UIA is the only world-wide professional organisation for architects. It has NGO status at the United Nations and is recognised by the

· Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (ECOSOC), Geneva
· United Nations Industrial Development Organisation (UNIDO), Vienna
· International Labour Organisation (ILO), Geneva
· World Health Organisation (WHO), Geneva
· United Nations Centre for Human Settlements (UNCHS), Nairobi
· United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO), Paris

The UIA works very closely with UNESCO, and this co-operation has led, for instance, to the elaboration of the

· UIA/UNESCO Regulations for International Competitions in Architecture and Town Planning,
· UIA/UNESCO Charter for Architectural Education,
· UIA/UNESCO Rules for the Accreditation of Schools of Architecture.


The UIA is divided into five Regions:

Region I: Western Europe
Region II: Middle East and Eastern Europe
Region III: The Americas
Region IV Asia and Australia
Region V: Africa

Each Region is headed by a Vice-President, who represents his Region in the Bureau. The Bureau is composed of the President, the Immediate Past President, the Secretary-General, the Treasurer and the five Vice-Presidents of the Regions. The Bureau is elected at World Congresses for a period of three years. The President is elected for one term in office, the Vice-Presidents can be elected for two terms and the Secretary-General and the Treasurer for three terms. The Bureau is responsible for the work of the General Secretariat in Paris and prepares the decisions to be taken at meetings of the Council.

The UIA Council as the executive body of the UIA consists of the members of the Bureau, four members from each Region, the Immediate Past President and the Director of the General Secretariat. In addition to the 30 members of the UIA Council, the former Presidents of the UIA can participate by special invitation in an advisory capacity in the twice-yearly meetings of the Council.
The Assembly is the decision-making and electoral body of the UIA. Its 280-odd delegates convene every three years at World Congresses. The number of delegates from each national UIA section (country) is calculated ľ as is the membership fee ľ on the basis of the respective gross national product and the size of the population. A minimum of one delegate and a maximum of ten delegates may represent a national section at the Assembly. The Assembly decides on the draft documents proposed by the Council, elects the members to the bodies and determines the venue of UIA World Congresses.

The work of the UIA is carried out in Commissions and Work Programmes. At present, there are 18 International Work Programmes and Commissions, whose activities are co-ordinated by the Secretary-General. Special importance has attached in recent years to the work of the Professional Practice Commission, which produced the UIA Accord on Recommended International Standards of Professionalism in Architectural Practice adopted unanimously by the Assembly in view of the liberalisation of services resulting from the GATT/ GATTS agreements. This was the first time ever that a professional organisation succeeded in establishing internationally accepted standards for the exercise of a profession.

The UIA Work Programmes bring together architects and experts from a wide range of professional backgrounds, who contribute in a major way to the advance of architecture, urban development and professional policy. In the light of their outstanding competence in a particular field, they are asked by the UIA Member Sections or the UIA Council to participate in, or take charge of, the work that is carried out. The Work Programmes, which have an international or regional emphasis, stage symposia at regular intervals. The results of their work will be presented at several events organised by the individual programmes during the World Congress.

1. Architecture and Social Challenges
· Architecture and Children
· Architecture and the Disabled
· Architecture and Heritage

2. Architecture, Cultural and Social Infrastructure
· Architecture for Science and High-Tech Facilities
· Educational and Cultural Spaces
· Places of Worship
· Public Health

3. Architecture, Housing, Urban Development
· Habitat
· Intermediate Cities and World Urbanisation
· Urban Settlements and Natural Disasters
· Shelter for the Homeless ľ The Road from Istanbul

4. Architecture and Strategies for Sustainability
· Architecture and Conservation of Forests
· Architecture and Energy
· Architecture of the Future
· Sustainable Development of the Built Environment ľ The Road from Rio
· Architecture and Ecology

5. Architecture and Leisure Time
· Sports and Leisure
· Architecture and Tourism

6. Architecture and the Future of the Profession
· The Role of Architects
· The Road from Beijing

In addition to these joint events, the individual UIA Work Programmes will be staging video and Internet presentations and exhibitions

The following meetings will be held at the XXI World Congress of Architecture in Berlin in 2002:

20 July 2002 14.00 to 18.00 h
Deutsches Architektur Zentrum DAZ
UIA Bureau



21 July 2002 10.00 to 18.00 h
30 July 2002 10.00 to 18.00 h
Deutsches Architektur Zentrum DAZ
UIA Council



22 July 2002 14.00 to 18.00 h
ICC (open to the public)
UIA International and Regional Work Programmes



23 to 25 July 2002 14.30 to 17.00 h
ICC (open to the public)
UIA International Commissions



23 to 25 July 2002
ICC (open to the public)
UIA Regional Conferences



25 July 2002 21.00 to 24.00 h
Museum Island (open to the public)
Award of the UIA Gold Medal, UIA Prizes and the Prizes for the UIA Berlin 2002 Student Competition



27 to 29 July 2002 10.00 to 18.00 h
ICC
XXII UIA Assembly



Welcome
Theme
Target Groups
Congress Calendar July 2002
Main Congress
Call for Contributions
Events
Pre-Conferences
UIA
Cultural Events
Special
Exhibitions
Excursions
Students Workshop
PlanCom 2002
Student Competition
Sites
Dialogue









 
Top of page

Last update: December 2001