Home Kongress Organisation Medien Registrierung Kontakt Links Sitemap
English Française Deutsch Español Russian
Prolog
Dialog der Zivilisationen
Ziel der Architektur, der Stadt- und Landschaftsplanung ist vorrangig die nachhaltige Entwicklung und Verbesserung der städtischen Zivilisationen unter Berücksichtigung regionaler kultureller Eigenarten. Lange vor den dramatischen Ereignissen im September 2001 hat Klaus Töpfer, Direktor der UNEP, die Konzeption einer globalen Umweltplanung und einer innovativen Friedenspolitik gefordert, die auch auf den Ausgleich der Lebensbedingungen gerichtet ist. Diese Initiative muss zusammen mit den Zielen der Architektur-, Stadt- und Landschaftsentwicklung in eine umfassende und ganzheitliche Architektur- und Städtebaupolitik von weltweiter Geltung münden.

Überall werden weiter materielle und energetische Ressourcen vergeudet. Die Auswirkungen sind lokal und global spürbar. Von Klimaveränderungen bis hin zum wachsenden Wohlstandsgefälle zwischen Gesellschaften und Nationen üben die Konsequenzen solchen Verhaltens immer gefährlichere Einflüsse auf die politischen Szenarien bis hin zum Terrorismus aus.

Hintergrund solcher Entwicklungen ist eindeutig die Einstellung gegenüber den geistigen Ressourcen der Menschheit – einschließlich der Wertvorstellungen der Architektur, Stadt- und Landschaftsplanung. Auch hier werden – analog zu den materiellen Werten – geistige, ethische und moralische Werte häufig vergeudet oder nicht beachtet. Verantwortungsbewusstsein gegenüber der Gesellschaft und Umwelt, Fähigkeiten zur Innovation, Kreativität und Imagination und weitere der unbegrenzten Ressourcen des menschlichen Geistes und Gewissens werden nicht genutzt oder fehlgeleitet.

Es geht also nicht nur um die endlichen Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten im »Horizont der Erde« sondern auch in verstärktem Maße um die unendlichen Fähigkeiten im »Horizont des Geistes«. Die Dimensionen der Kultur und der Schönheit als Ausdruck menschlichen Glücksgefühls, auch die Fähigkeit zum transzendenten Empfinden des »Unsichtbaren« hinter den Dingen werden zu wenig wahrgenommen und angewandt oder gar pervertiert – wie an den philosophischen Ideologien oder dem religiösen Fundamentalismus unserer Tage verfolgt werden kann. Die »Strukturen der globalen Ungleichheit« (Saskia Sassen), also die ungleiche Verteilung materieller Ressourcen, und auch kultureller Kolonialismus sind ebenso wie der Ausverkauf unersetzlicher Rohstoffe auf materieller Ebene hintergründige Ursachen für die politischen Auseinandersetzungen zwischen Nord und Süd, zwischen Rassen und zwischen Religionen. Die Kompetenz der Architekten, der Stadt- und Landschaftsplaner, die mit anderen verantwortlich sind für die Entwicklung von Wertmaßstäben, für die Vermittlung von Know-how und für den Dialog der Kulturen, muss für die Lösung drängender Probleme eingesetzt werden, wenn das Ziel einer friedlichen Zukunft der Menschheit im materiellen und geistigen »Horizont der Erde« Bestand haben soll.

Dialog der Kulturen
Seit den Terroranschlägen im vergangenen September und der Reaktion der Betroffenen eröffnet sich eine neue Dimension der Notwendigkeit einer globalen Friedenspolitik. Sie muss die Weltökonomie ebenso umfassen wie die Achtung vor der Umwelt und muss vor dem Hintergrund einer Wertediskussion entwickelt werden, die im Dialog der Ideen, der Wissenschaften, der Kulturen und der Generationen geführt wird. Architekten und andere Planer wollen dazu ihren Beitrag anlässlich des XXI. Architektur-Weltkongresses leisten.

Dieser Weltkongress der Internationalen Architekten-Union (UIA) steht unter dem Thema »Ressource Architektur«. Die Nutzung der geistigen und materiellen Ressourcen des Planens und Bauens soll im Dialog der Kulturen die globalen Prozesse der friedlichen Zivilisation, der innovativen Modernisierung und der Fortführung regionaler Traditionen vor allem in den Städten als Ursprung aller Kulturen fördern.
Architektur, Stadt- und Landschaftsplanung sind in der Lage, die Kräfte der Globalisierung im positiven Sinne zu symbolisieren und den Globalisierungsprozess vor dem Hintergrund einer Wertediskussion der Kulturen und Disziplinen umweltverträglich und sozial gerecht zu gestalten. Die Kräfte der Globalisierung können nicht aufgehalten werden – aber sie können in eine umweltgerechtere Qualität und in eine gerechtere Verteilung im Rahmen der globalen Zivilisation münden.

Mit der Relation der Themen des Kongresses von Architektur- und Stadtentwicklung zu den Themen der globalen Entwicklung einer friedlichen Welt-Umweltpolitik kann der Kongress zu Begriffsbildungen übergehen, die den Phänomenen der weltpolitischen Zusammenhänge, soweit sie in der Öffentlichkeit wahrgenommen werden, zuvorkommen.

»So weiter machen wie bisher« – das hieße, dass die westlichen Länder ihre Vorstellungen der Energiezivilisation nicht korrigierten, ihre Wertevorstellungen nicht infrage stellten, ihre Systeme nicht auf Ressourcenschonung und Kreislaufwirtschaft umstellten und damit auch ihre Architektur-, Stadt- und Landschaftsentwicklung nicht veränderten. Die Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländer sähen sich gezwungen – um mithalten und aufholen zu können –, diese überholten und nicht mehr zu verantwortenden Konzepte zu übernehmen.

Die tragischen Ereignisse der letzten Monate haben gezeigt, dass das zivilisatorische Niveau und der so genannte technische Fortschritt mit der Entfremdung der natürlichen Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten und Ressourcen in höchstem Maße verwundbar sind. Wir benötigen deshalb nach einem Dialog über künftige Wertvorstellungen einen Paradigmenwechsel bei der Konzeption globaler Architektur-, Stadt- und Landschaftsentwicklung. Wenn wir so weitermachen würden wie bisher, würden wir die Erde viermal brauchen. Wir haben aber nur eine.

Architektur der neuen Horizonte
Kulturelle Reflexion und Innovation ist im Austausch aller Weltkulturen erforderlich. Der Bestand und der Erhalt der natürlichen Umwelt wird in allen Kulturen als Voraussetzung für ein menschenwürdiges Leben verstanden. Der Konsens darüber, wie dies in der Realität geschehen soll, kann nur vor dem Hintergrund gesellschaftlicher, kultureller und religiöser Werte, Moral und Ethik erzielt werden. Die Architektur erhält damit die Dimension einer Existenzfrage für den zustimmungsfähigen Konsens im Horizont des Geistes und damit vor dem Horizont der Erde. Er muss im Dialog der Disziplinen debattiert und erarbeitet werden.

Wie Konzepte einer nicht nur auf sich selbst bezogenen, gewissermaßen autistischen Architektur beschaffen sein könnten, wie Entwicklungsprinzipien der Architektur, der Stadt- und Landschaftsplanung als Teil einer wertebestimmten Welt-Umweltpolitik definiert werden könnten – dies soll unter dem Begriff »Ressource Architektur« als Kernthema und unter den Kategorien von »Stadt und Gesellschaft«, »Natur und gebaute Umwelt«, »Innovation und Tradition« und »Raum und Identität« auf dem erstmalig in Deutschland stattfindenden Weltkongress in Plenarsitzungen, Foren, Werkstätten und Werkberichten überprüft werden.


Berlin, Oktober 2001

Reinhart Wustlich
Sekretär des Wissenschaftlichen Komitees

Andreas Gottlieb Hempel
Kongresspräsident

Willkommen
Thema
Prolog
Thesen
Zielgruppen
Kongresskalender Juli 2002
Der Hauptkongress
Aufruf zur Beteiligung
Veranstaltungen
Studentenwettbewerb
Standorte
Dialog









 
Seitenanfang

Stand: 11.12.2001

Home Congress Organisation Media Registration Contact Links Sitemap
English Française Deutsch Espa?ol Russian
Prologue
Dialogue between civilisations

The primary aim of architecture and urban and landscape planning is to ensure the sustainable development and enhancement of urban civilisations while taking due account of the specific features and characteristics of regional cultures. Long before the dramatic events of September 2001, the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme, Klaus Töpfer, called for global environmental planning and the elaboration of a new peace policy designed to even up living conditions in the world. These aims must merge with those of architecture, urban planning and regional development to produce an integrated and comprehensive policy for architecture and urban development that will be applicable throughout the world.
Material and energy resources continue to be wasted everywhere. The effects can be felt at both the local and global level. The consequences of such wastage – from changes in the climate to the growing prosperity gap between societies and nations – are leading to ever greater political dangers, not the least of which is terrorism.

One of the reasons for these developments is undoubtedly the attitude taken towards mankind’s intellectual resources, including the moral concepts inherent in architecture and urban and landscape planning. Here too – as is the case with material values – intellectual, ethical and moral values are frequently ignored or wasted. The sense of responsibility to society and the environment, innovative skills, creativity, imagination and many of the other unlimited resources of the human intellect and conscience are not exploited or are channelled in the wrong direction.

What we are concerned with here, therefore, are not merely the finite opportunities for development in the »earth’s horizon«, but also – and to an increasing extent – the infinite potential of the »intellectual horizon«. Too little attention is given to, or use made of, the dimensions of culture and beauty as expressions of human happiness and the capacity to sense and feel what is hidden beneath the surface of things. Indeed, they may even be subject to perversion, as can be seen in the case of philosophical ideologies and modern religious fundamentalism.

»The structures of global inequality« (Saskia Sassen), i.e. the unequal distribution of material resources, cultural colonialism and the exhaustion of irreplaceable raw materials, are the cause of the political conflicts between North and South, between races and religions. The authority of architects and urban and landscape planners, who together with others are responsible for elaborating standards, communicating know-how and promoting dialogue between cultures, must be used to help resolve urgent problems if the aim of achieving a peaceful future for mankind is to endure in the material and intellectual »horizon of the earth«.


Dialogue between cultures

Following the terrorist attacks in September 2001 and the response of the victims, a new urgency has been given to the need for a global peace policy. It must include the global economy and respect for the environment and it must be developed in the context of a discussion on values that is being conducted in the dialogue of ideas, sciences, cultures and generations. Architects and other planners intend to make their own contribution to this discussion during the XXI World Congress of Architecture.

The theme of the World Congress of the International Union of Architects (UIA) is »Resource Architecture«. The use of the intellectual and material resources involved in planning and building, set against the backdrop of the dialogue between the cultures, is designed to promote the global processes of peaceful civilisation, innovative modernisation and the continuation of regional traditions, especially in towns and cities, which are the source of all cultures.

Architecture and urban and landscape planning can act as positive symbols of the forces of globalisation and make the process of globalisation environmentally compatible and socially just in the context of a discussion on values between the cultures and disciplines. The forces of globalisation cannot be stopped, but they can help to bring about a better and more environmentally compatible quality of life and a fairer distribution in the context of global civilisation.

By relating architecture and urban development – the themes of the congress – to the global develop-ment of a peaceful world environmental policy the congress can make use of terms that anticipate events and how they relate to one another in the international political context – to the extent that they are perceived by the general public.

A policy of »business as usual« would result in the countries of the West not altering their energy consumption habits, not calling their values into question, not gearing their economies to the sparing use of primary resources and the recovery of secondary resources and, therefore, not making any changes in architecture, town planning and regional development. It would also mean that the developing and newly industrialised countries would be obliged to resort to outdated and no longer acceptable concepts of development in order to keep up or catch up.

The tragic events of recent months have shown that the level of civilisation and so-called technical progress are extremely vulnerable as a result of their alienation from natural modes of development and resources. What we need, therefore, following on a dialogue on future moral concepts, is a shift in paradigms in global architecture, town planning and regional development. If we carry on in the future as we have done in the past we shall need four worlds. But we only have one.


Architecture of the new horizons

Cultural reflection and innovation are needed in the exchange between all the world cultures. The state and preservation of the natural environment are regarded in all cultures as essential for a decent life. A consensus on how this is to take place in practice can only be achieved by reference to social, cultural and religious values, morals and ethics. Architecture thus assumes an existential role in the achievement of an acceptable consensus in the horizon of the intellect and thus in the horizon of the earth. This consensus must be discussed and worked out in a dialogue between the disciplines.

What concepts can be elaborated for an architecture that is not just concerned with itself or is autistic, as it were? How can the principles for the development of architecture and urban and landscape planning be defined as part of a value-determined global environmental policy? These will be among the key themes discussed under the heading of »Resource Architecture« in the categories of »Urban Societies«, »The Built and the Natural««, »»Innovation and Tradition« and »Space and Identity« during the plenary sessions and the many forums, workshops and project reports at the World Congress of Architecture, which is to be held for the first time ever in Germany.

Berlin, October 2001

Reinhart Wustlich, Secretary of the Scientific Committee

Andreas Gottlieb Hempel, President of the Congress


Welcome
Theme
Prologue
Theses
Target Groups
Congress Calendar July 2002
Main Congress
Call for Contributions
Events
Student Competition
Location
Dialogue









 
Top of page

Last update: 11/12/2001